The Good Life France

Everything You Want to Know About France and More...

Reviews for My Good Life in France by Janine Marsh

When Lesley O’Mara of Michael O’Mara publishers in London emailed me to ask if I’d be interested in having my story published, I leapt at the chance. I mean, who wouldn’t!

Lesley had seen a feature on me in the Financial Times, about how I’d given up the bright lights and mean streets of London for the life of a country bumpkin in rural France. I hung up my high heels and brief case in exchange for a pair of Wellington boots and a blog and she was intrigued. In fact she asked me to submit an outline for a book about my adventures, 70 animals and the roller coaster ride that I had into a new life. I did, she liked it and the book was published in May 2017.

I’m over the moon and utterly thrilled to tell you that it is a best seller on Amazon in the UK and when it came out in the US a few months later, it was a No. 1 Hot New Release on Amazon America

Here are just a few things people are saying (please don’t think me immodest, my publishers tell me I have to do this) and I don’t know any of the reviewers mentioned here, but I am extremely grateful and thank everyone for their lovely comments!

5.0 out of 5 stars: A good read ! Couldn’t put it down. An honest and entertaining account of setting up home. Waiting for the next instalment! on 26 August 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars: I love reading stories set in France and this was all the better, being true. Janine paints a lovely picture of the region and it’s people and I spent a lot of time Googling the towns and villages she wrote about. I would love to live the rural dream and this has spurred me on to pursue it. on 15 June 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars: An easy, absorbing and delightful read. I think Janine marsh could be the next Bill Bryson. I hope she writes more books. on 14 June 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars: I loved how easy this book was to read, it’s well written, flows and is packed full of brilliant insights on how to make the move to France. I also loved how Janine shares the emotional rollercoaster too, it made me laugh out loud, and cry too. She was also really open in how she found herself discovering new things about herself and her husband. Great book, bring on the next! on 3 June 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars: A great sense of humour and a lovely way with words, it made me throughly look forward to my trip to france on 30 May 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars: A lovely honest and heartwarming read. By Mrs. Jean on 11 June 2017

5.0 out of 5 stars – had me laughing at times at the antics of the author in the persuit of the perfect Life in France By Cuechip on 18 July 2017

5.0 out of 5 stars A light hearted read for the summer holidays. By 1927 COLIN on 29 May 2017: I enjoyed the book very much, very typical of French country life… you will laugh and cry with the author, will be pleased to see the next!!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars – best read of the year By confiton 9 May 2017

5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, I loved it! By DROGERS on 10 June 2017: … please write a sequel!

5.0 out of 5 stars – A fabulous read. I thoroughly enjoyed it! By Amazon Customer on 22 June 2017: Wonderfully funny, heart warming, informative… Janine’s writing is so open & honest, I found myself totally absorbed in her life….laughing with her, crying with her…

5.0 out of 5 starsI so enjoyed this book By stompon 13 July 2017…a book I couldn’t put down ! I felt really engaged with the characters. I will be looking out for anything else Janine writes.

5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous By Miss G K Milleron 1 August 2017

5.0 out of 5 stars Pack Your Bags! By Amazon Customer on 8 July 2017 A wonderful book that makes you want to pack your bags for an adventure immediately!

Okay, I’ll stop now – there are loads more wonderful reviews and I’m humbled by every one of them.  I’m blushing as I write this, but with a massive smile on my face even though Fat Cat, the latest stray to arrive, is sitting on my feet, snoring and dribbling.

A huge, huge thank you to everyone who has bought my book and left me a lovely review, I am most enormously grateful, honoured and thankful to you for helping to make my dream come true.

PS – My Good Life in France is available in book shops (top photo is Bon Marche department stores in Paris) and Amazon everywhere!

Scroll to Top