Everything You Want to Know About France and More...

UNESCO status for Chaine des Puys, Auvergne

The peeks of 80 dormant volcanoes in central France known as the Chaîne des Puys, including the famous Puy de Dome, have been granted World Heritage status by UNESCO.

The chain of volcanoes becomes mainland France’s first natural Heritage site and were granted UNESCO status on 2 July 2018.

This unique landscape now joins sites such as the Grand Canyon, the Okavango Delta, Kilimanjaro and the Great Barrier Reef on this prestigious list.

Auvergne – one of the great secrets of France

The emblematic image of the Auvergne and the Puy-de-Dôme department, the Chaîne des Puys – Limagne fault Tectonic Arena has been recognised by UNESCO as an exceptional geological site. The alignment of the Chaîne des Puys volcanoes and the Limagne fault provides evidence for a large-scale process which has fashioned the Earth’s surface continental break-up.

This geological history is superbly reflected in the landscape and stimulates the visitors’ imagination as they gaze across the lush green volcanoes at what could have been a new ocean.

Set in an area of natural beauty and dramatic landscapes, at 14,65m high the Puy-de-Dome is the largest not the tallest in the chain of volcanoes. It makes for a beautiful, challenging climb or hop on the train to the top to enjoy outstanding views over this stunning countryside.

What to see and do in the Auvergne


Scroll to Top
error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!